ASSE Names Two Outstanding Educators of the Year for 2017

The William E. Tarrants Outstanding Safety Educator of the Year Award recognizes exceptional educators who show the highest level of achievement in OSH teaching, scholarship and commitment to ASSE. This year, ASSE honored two educators with the award: Georgi Popov, QEP, CMC, and Sathy Rajendran, CSP, ARM, CRIS.

Popov is an associate professor in the Safety Sciences Program at University of Central Missouri where he teaches various safety-related undergraduate and graduate courses. He also provides leadership by creating new course and modifying existing curriculum. Popov also serves as a consultant and advisor to various committees and researchers at ASSE, NIOSH and AIHA. His expert safety insights have been published in dozens of academic papers and journals, including Professional Safety.




Rajendran is an associate professor and program director of the Safety and Health Management Program at Central Washington University. In this role, he has developed three new OSH courses as well as an internship program. Prior to joining Central Washington University in 2012, Rajendran worked for 5 years as a safety engineer, safety manager and program manager at Hoffman Construction Co.