Board of Certified Safety Professionals Recognizes Four ASSE Members

Board of Certified Safety Professionals hosted the Third Annual Award of Excellence ceremony during ASSE’s Safety 2014 conference in Orlando, FL, to recognize safety practitioners who best represent certificants’ outstanding leadership, expertise and professional commitment. This year, four ASSE members were honored: Bruce A. Donato and Douglas R. Handy received the CSP Award of Excellence; Tim P. Dellhagen received the CHST Award of Excellence; and David V. MacCollum received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bruce Donato

Bruce A. Donato, CSP, CHMM, CECD, is a principal with K & A First Aid and Safety. A professional member of ASSE’s NOVA Chapter, he has more than 30 years’ experience working in the chemical, textile, and biotechnology industries as well as for the federal government. Donato holds a B.S.E. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania.

Douglas Handy


Douglas R. Handy, CSP, is a loss prevention consultant for Liberty Mutual Insurance Group’s National Market Loss Prevention Department, based out of Salt Lake City, UT. He has more than 20 years’ experience in SH&E management, and is currently part of the UPS Dedicated Team. Handy holds a B.S. in Manufacturing Engineering Technology from Weber State College. He is a professional member of ASSE’s Utah Chapter.

Tim Delhagen


Tim P. Delhagen, CHST, is the safety director at Pinner Construction Co. Inc. in Anaheim, CA. Under his leadership, the company received the Los Angeles Unified School District and Liberty Mutual Group Gold and Silver Safety Excellence Award’s in 2010 and 2011, respectively, as well as a Cal-OSHA Golden Gate Partnership Recognition Award. A professional member of ASSE’s Orange County Chapter for more than 10 years, Delhagen holds a B.S. in Business Management and Communications, and he is an OSHA Construction 10- and 30-hour instructor.

David MacCollum


David V. MacCollum, P.E., CSP, a professional member of ASSE’s Southern Arizona Chapter, was a member of the first U.S. Secretary of Labor’s Construction Safety Advisory Committee (1969-72). He served as ASSE president in 1975-76 and was honored as an ASSE Fellow in 1999. Throughout his career, MacCollum has specialized in safety research and technical assistance related to high-risk hazards. He was a leader in the development of rollover protection and other safeguards, and has been a career-long proponent of innovative construction methods and procedures.