COPS Award Nominations Due March 15

D_iStock_000002787294_CSMNominations for awards from ASSE’s Council on Practices and Standards (COPS) are due March 15, 2016. These awards recognize select practice specialty members who have helped advance the OSH profession through exemplary volunteer service to ASSE and to their respective practice specialty, common interest group (CIG) or branch during the calendar year. To be nominated for a practice specialty, branch or CIG group award, you must be a member of that particular group.

Here are submission requirements for each award:

COPS Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) Award

  • Each practice specialty and common interest group is encouraged to submit one nominee by March 15.
  • The winner will receive $500.

Practice Specialty or Common Interest Group SPY

  • Each practice specialty or common interest group administrator is encouraged to submit one winning candidate to the COPS vice president by March 15, 2016.

Branch Significant Contributor

  • Each branch chair is encouraged to submit one winning candidate to the COPS VP by March 15.

Thomas F. Bresnahan Standards Medal

  • Submit the application and any supporting material to Tim Fisher by March 15.
  • The winner will receive $500.

For more information on each award’s criteria and details on how to submit, please visit the COPS Awards website. Working through your practice specialty leadership to nominate a colleague is a great way to help that person gain recognition. Award winners also help inspire other members to get more involved and contribute to the profession and ASSE in new ways.